top of page
Buscar
  • Foto del escritorSoph

MADDY PEREZ'S BEST OUTFITS

This girl is never seen without an amazing outfit. Forget Bryon Javar, Law Roach or Jason Rembert, vote Maddy Perez for world's best stylist 2022. Every look she serves makes me want to go shopping immediately.


She's an icon, she's a legend, and she is the moment.


I mean come on. Who remembers in season 1 episode 5 when she was supposed to look 'rough', sleep deprived and depressed, but actually ended up looking better than most of us do on a daily basis? I'd sell an organ to be able to afford her wardrobe.


Heidi Bivens, Euphoria's costume designer, stated that her process for creating these unparalleled looks is to read through the script and imagine what the characters are feeling. With these feelings in mind, she expresses them through the outfits, letting these garments tell the story.


Bivens also said that her and Alexa Demie (Maddy) often collaborate on the looks, because they both understand that Maddy can be iconic, and the potential she has.


You may have noticed that during Euphoria, most of the character's styles change as their personalities develop. Meanwhile, Maddy's style remains rock solid throughout the series, even in the few episodes of season 2 we've seen. This is because Maddy knows who she is, and she's dead confident about it.


While every single look tells a different story, a few stood out for me and I'm so excited to talk about them with you!



ALL BABY BLUE



This look is so Y2K. The all baby blue, the hair and the makeup all scream Destiny's Child era.


As soon as I saw this episode, I sprinted to the mall and bought a white top similar to Maddy's and dyed it baby blue. I lo-hove how simple yet well put together this outfit is. Every element (and you'll notice this with all of her looks) fits together like a puzzle. What would the ensemble be without her blue eyeshadow? Or her jewellery? Or even a different hairstyle?


Notice also how she used lip gloss and not matte lipstick. Bold choice that works really well with the whole look.



COVERED IN RHINESTONES



I saved this outfit to my Pinterest before I even knew what Euphoria was. It was everywhere I looked, and with good reason.


I like the fact that she chose not to wear a necklace- it would have been to much, and might have distracted us from the powerful wardrobe she has on.


So many things to comment on: the makeup- on point. It's very Lady Gaga. She opted for lightly tinted lips, and she couldn't have been more right. The earrings? perfectly match the vibe. The sheer jumper? oh my God to die for. They searched the Earth for the perfect jumper, and they found it. The head gear (I'm not sure what to call it- a vail maybe?)- out of this world. It gives the look a kind of royal vibe, almost gothic as well. Overall, diva.



SOFTCORE



In this particular scene Maddy is sharing a sweet moment with her best friends, which leads me to believe that this is the reason she is dressed in such a soft outfit.


Her clothing choices are usually more bold and daring than this, almost giving off 'mean girl' energy. Whereas in this scene, we can see her wearing a pastel blue ensemble, and this could be reflecting how she feels around her friends: her friends are her weakness.


There are just a few scenes where Maddy's style completely changes from bold to delicate, and this is when shes with a) her friends and b) Nate. But beginning of season 1 Nate, implying that he too may be a weakness.


If you look closely at her eye makeup in this photo, you can see the real Maddy peaking through with bold coloured eyeliner that matches her nails. No matter how weak Maddy can get around the people that she loves, she never forgets the fierce character she is.




PEACHY CHANEL



This look came just in time for the furry skirts trend that was going viral on social media. I remember many of my friends showing up to school in matching skirts and cropped cardigans claiming it was an original idea, as if noone else had watched Euphoria. Girl-


I don't usually go for mini backpacks instead of purses, but we'll allow it in this case. Not only because it's Maddy Perez, but because it actually looks good! I love how she combined her nails with the colour of the backpack, and her eye makeup with the colour of the electric blue highlights on the outfit.


She also dominates jewellery. She knows exactly what to wear with what outfit, and whether to accessorize with gold or silver, thick or thin.


And I of course had to include some looks from season two, so...



Y2K COWGIRL



Before I even begin: the hair. She always nails the hair, but this one sent me into orbit. Had me curling my hair for hours trying to achieve this look.


The trousers are outstanding! I had never seen anything quite like them before. Hats off to Heidi Bivens, because she has moulded Maddy's style so well that I can't actually imagine any other character wearing them. Or any of her looks, for that matter!


And finally, last but definively not least:




THE AKNA BLACK DRESS



Give me a few seconds to breathe.


This look is the look of season 2. It's having the same effect as the purple I.AM.GIA Lucid Set she wore at the carnaval.


This Akna dress just oozes with Maddy energy. She's over Nate (almost) and she's letting everyone know. The Amina Mauddi gladiator sandals are absolutely beautiful, and give the ensemble the slight tough of colour it deserves. And finally, would the outfit be the outfit without the gloves? They're also from Akna, and they're the main character of the show.


The hairstyle has to be one of my favourites of the show, if not the favourite. It's such a 'baddie' style. Oh, and don't even get me started on the eyes. The long cateye liner is a perfect fit for this look, and the colour of her lipstick sharply matches the whole outfit.


I can promise you that I will be checking on this dress until it's back in stock.


 

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope you'll be back soon! I will be writing chapters on Cassie, Lexi, Kat and Jules in the near future, and I'm so excited for them! Subscribe for free to be the first to know when I post!

19 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page