top of page
Buscar
  • Foto del escritorSoph

THE LESSONS I LEARNED IN PRAGUE

Some of my best travelling memories are from my trip to Prague in 2019. I loved immersing myself into the Czech culture, but there are a few lessons that I learned the hard way. If you’re planning on travelling to the Czech Republic, read this before you go!



As I mentioned, I travelled to the Czech Republic back in March of 2019. As the plane was flying over the country, about to land, all I could see were the beautiful snowy landscapes. The first thing I thought was ‘ooooooh…. I packed for cold weather, but not snow’.


Luckily enough it didn’t snow during my entire visit, but it might as well have: it was even colder than I imagined. And bear in mind that I’m from a cold part of the UK when I say this: it was cold. Pack a lot of warm clothing if you’re travelling during cold months. Other than this, it was very sunny, so I was able to be outdoors all day every day!



During my four day stay, I explored the streets of this beautiful city, including the Jewish Quarter, which was a highlight for me. The Jewish Cemetery was touching, but stunning at the same time. So much history allied to it, more than I could even begin to fathom.


I saw so many of the famous landmarks, including the Kafka statue, Charles bridge, the Prague Castle and other historic spots. I mention these three because they were some of my favourites. I also went to a nightclub known for having 5 floors, each one with a different genre of music and a different theme. The atmosphere was amazing, and I loved being able to move up a floor if I got bored of the music!


The Easter market in the Old Town Square was magical, I’m sure you can picture it: music playing, loads of food stalls radiating sweet and chocolaty smells, and the general feeling of the Holiday Season. I bought a traditional chimney cake (unparalleled taste. I’d kill for just one more bite) and a hot chocolate because it was quite cold. This was in March, so I’m excited to travel back during the Holiday Season in December to see what it’s like then.


The food was delicious, but like many other northern countries, there weren't many vegetarian options. Most dishes included some kind of meat, which, don’t get me wrong, was delicious, but sometimes I just felt like a meat-free meal.


As for the Czech people, they have a different culture and different ways of doing things, which I (ignorantly) didn’t learn about before visiting their country. I learned a couple of lessons the hard way, including how walking the busy streets two-by-two or slowly is rude, or at least annoying (I definitely got side-eyed several times as people overtook me), and how talking loudly is considered vulgar (especially on public transport). I’m glad to know this now, however I should have discovered it before entering the country.


The Palladium shopping mall was also my go-to place to kill time. For those of you who love shopping a little too much (like me), oh my goodness! I’d go back to Prague just for this mall. As soon as I walked in, I was completely mesmerised by the lights, the people, the shops and how massive it is!!! I could have happily spent my whole trip in that mall.


Before I left, I made sure to visit the Terezin concentration camp, to educate myself on the horrific events that took place not many years back. It was an unforgettable experience that brought tears to my eyes at several moments. It’s horrible to witness, but it’s so important to learn about and remember the poor victims. I encourage anyone who can to visit places like this, however difficult and horrible it may be, to learn about our history and to be more thankful for our lives.


As my trip came to an end, I made sure to spend a whopping 50 euros or 1,220.72 Czech Koruna on souvenirs that I would never use in my life. We’ve all been there.


I enjoyed this city so much that I was so unhappy when I arrived back home. Apart from a few locals hating me because I was a tourist (joyful), I wouldn’t have changed a thing about my holiday. My happiness and relaxation levels skyrocketed! I would recommend Prague as a holiday destination, without a doubt.



Don’t forget to tell me all about your experiences in Prague or the Czech Republic if you’ve been, or in any other country! I’m always so excited to read what you guys have to say. For now, thank you so much for reading and until next time! I’ll be writing about my time in some of Portugal’s biggest cities soon, so don’t forget to subscribe for free to be the first to know!


3 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page